Reviews

Reviews of The Bayman’s Daughter:

Gloria

5.0 out of 5 stars Talented WriterReviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 25, 2022

I was so absorbed in Theresa’s newest book that I read in one day. I felt everything that went on with most of the character’s lives. I cried more than once. I was so emotional when women won the right to vote. I love that I knew most places in the book. It was a history lesson to me also. I think Theresa has a great imagination. Brilliant writer.
Thanks for keeping me enthralled in your book

Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!!!

Reviewed in the United States on August 3, 2022

The Bayman’s Daughter is a step back in time! The author has woven a beautiful story spanning generations! The Bayman’s Daughter is a captivating piece of historical fiction that brings the reader back in time to a much simpler way of life. The authors ability to give the reader perspective in the lives of each character as their friendships evolved was heartwarming. The author has an incredible ability to captivate your imagination, engage all of your emotions and weave a beautiful narrative at the same time. The author Theresa Dodaro is one to watch she is an exceptional talent!! This is a book you will not want to miss…..so hurry….run to purchase your copy of The Bayman’s Daughter!

Teri D

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Story Combining Fact and Fiction

Reviewed in the United States on July 28, 2022

Verified Purchase

This book is full of histoical facts, tied in with fictional and real characters. I related to it very much being from Long Island. Ms Dodaro has a fabulous way of weaving the factual history of Long Island with some very relatable fictional characters. The intertwining of fact and fiction made this not only a great read, but also extremely educational!
I found myself googling things to see if they had, in fact, happened at that time. I read it with my book club, I highly recommend!

L.E. Spencer5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Book!Reviewed in the United States on July 20, 2022

Verified Purchase

I loved everything about this book! If you are looking for a great Summer Read this is it. I love how the Author intertwines early Sayville History with Modern Day events. The love story was Magical!

Eve Oneill

Theresa’s books are addictive. I’ve never read “romance novels”. Her series of historical fiction is so well researched and written. There’s just the right amount of romance and history to get you really involved. Beyond the romance, there are the friendships and families that make this book unforgettable.

Reviewed in the United States on July 7, 2022

New Review on Amazon for The Bayman’s Daughter:

Eileen M. Resta

5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging historical fiction!

Reviewed in the United States on July 7, 2022

The Bayman’s Daughter by Theresa Dodaro is an historical fiction novel that draws you in from the very beginning. From there we are taken on a journey through time with compelling characters both real and fictional. Theresa’s ability to teach us about the history of Sayville, Long Island using the perspective of families (real and fictional) living through the major events of the century is brilliant. She brings the story to present day and we learn that some of the landmarks of the story are still there and able to be visited. I have been to Sayville, a beautiful town, but my next visit will be more interesting as I locate some of the places Theresa highlighted in The Bayman’s Daughter. I was sorry to end the book, but now I look forward to reading Theresa’s other books.

The 100th review of The Bayman’s Daughter on Amazon:

Michelle

5.0 out of 5 stars I loved “The Bayman’s Daughter”

Reviewed in the United States on February 11, 2022

I loved the book. I very rarely read fiction, the last novel I read that wasn’t required for school was “Jaws”.

I read the book because I grew up in the area. I lived in one of, if not the closest houses to Meadow Croft, on Baywood Lane in Bayport. Unfortunately, the estate was off limits when I lived there. Barney Laughlin, the caretaker, would always chase me away whenever I got close in my row boat.

I enjoyed “The Bayman’s Daughter” so much because it brought back so many memories. We belonged to Wet Pants and I took sailing lessons there. We later joined the Sayville Yacht Club. We would get our prescriptions from Thornhill’s and I often went to Frances’ Sweet Shop to get penny candy. I also was a bayman for many summers.

I highly recommend the book both for those who are familiar with the area as well as those who aren’t. It was hard to put down and I read it in a matter of days. I was so interested in the book, I chatted with Teresa and asked her some questions. She responded immediately.

If you are looking for a great book to read, to learn about some local South Shore of Long Island history, this is the book to get.

K Kamensky 5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely story that takes place in our town. Reviewed in the United States on August 12, 2021 Verified Purchase I loved the history of Sayville and the surrounding towns. I know the streets and was able to imagine myself in the story. Even if you have no knowledge of Long Island, the story will take you on a wonderful journey through time.

Customer image

Maribeth Demetres 5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! Reviewed in the United States on August 8, 2021 Verified Purchase Once again Theresa Dodaro has captivated my interest from start to finish! I would highly recommended this book whether you live, have lived or never lived in Sayville! The fictional characters were brought to life and she broadened what I knew about the historical characters and events. A true joy to read. I was sorry to see the book end!

Amazon Customer 5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Written Historical Fiction Reviewed in the United States on August 7, 2021 Verified Purchase This beautifully crafted book tells the history of a small town. Instead of boring facts, the story is told through a fictional family stretching three generations. We grieve for their challenges and losses and feel their love and compassion as they rise above their challenges.
It teaches us to view our present problems and pain through the windows of the past to find the strength to persevere.

J. Lazarus 5.0 out of 5 stars So good!!! Reviewed in the United States on August 7, 2021 Verified Purchase I genuinely loved this book! I found out about it from a community Facebook group, then realized the author was a local! Theresa did such a wonderful job weaving historic facts and events with a beautiful story. I loved learning new things about the town my family grew up in as well! Pick up this book, it won’t disappoint!

Terry D. 5.0 out of 5 stars A book you will love and be sorry to see end! Reviewed in the United States on August 7, 2021 Verified Purchase This book brings you into the story. That amazing feeling when you feel as if the characters come to life around you; when they become real people. I loved the storyline from beginning to end. I was actually sad when I only had 100 pages left. While I was sorry to finish the book, I LOVED the ending!

Connie Felice August 6, 2021 Theresa, I really liked your book 📖. What a wonderful way to celebrate the history of your town. Not just with cold facts but with feeling through the characters in your story. It makes me want to visit your town.

Janice S 5.0 out of 5 stars What an ending! Reviewed in the United States on July 27, 2021 Verified Purchase She never ceases to amaze me with her writing. As always I love the storyline and the history that goes with it. This is my favorite of all the books Theresa has written so far, and trust me they are all good! The ending.. I never saw it coming! Awesome! that’s all I can say. READ THE BOOK!

Constance A. Currie 5.0 out of 5 stars THE BAYMAN’S DAUGHTER Reviewed in the United States on July 26, 2021 Verified Purchase A love story that touched my heart. For those who cherish small town life and a look back in history this story fits the bill.

Andrea M Gilbert 5.0 out of 5 stars  Small town history with a fascinating twist of fiction Reviewed in the United States on July 21, 2021 Verified Purchase Having grown up in Sayville as a 3rd generation family and knowing lots of its history, Theresa Dodaro made the town come to life in an amazing way. The fictional story line flowed so effortlessly with actual history. I enjoyed getting lost in the memories of past and present Sayville. I could not put it down, truly a wonderful read for anyone!

Granny-Ma 5.0 out of 5 stars Well written fiction and historically correct story Reviewed in the United States on July 20, 2021 Verified Purchase The storyline is interesting and fictional characters portrayed beautifully. Many actual people, places, true town places and events along with historical events all entwined. Excellent story well written.

Professional Review of The Porcelain Doll:

“Theresa Dodaro’s The Porcelain Doll presents a fascinating feminine perspective of World War II’s effects on a family. I enjoyed the spin of the usual war story through the mapping and charting of a family’s navigation of trauma. The use of the doll as a symbol for the passing of ancestral trauma is really brilliant and a great concept from Dodaro . . . Overall, I appreciated Dodaro’s artistic choices and hope she will continue writing. She has too keen of an eye for a unique, original story to not continue persevering in this very tough career.”

“Judge, 28th (2020) Annual Writer’s Digest Self-Published Book Awards.”

Review of Reawakening:

5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book Is An Endless Gift
Reviewed in the United States on May 3, 2020
I’ve read many books that I enjoyed and forgot the names of over time. Though I am certain that I will remember this trilogy for years to come. The story and characters were brought to such life that it was like saying goodbye to old friends when it ended. I kept finding myself amazed at how everything was brought together so beautifully and perfectly. I also do not generally save my books. However The Tin Box Secret, The Hope Chest & Reawakening indeed have a forever spot on by bookcase. I look forward to Theresa Dodaro’s next book. She has an amazing gift of writing.

Reviews of The Porcelain Doll

E.SETAUKET,NY 5.0 out of 5 stars Great story set in smoky mountains of Tennessee Reviewed in the United States on September 15, 2019 Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase Great read!I could not put down the book until the story was over.The story has many layers and I especially love the relationship between the granddaughter and grandmother.I have spent quite a bit of time visiting the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee and I could visualize the places the author was writing about.I know a fused glass artist who has a shop in the artist colony of Gatlinburg and could almost imagine Tucker s stained glass shop.The author has touched my heart in many ways with her poignant storytelling.

JMS5.0 out of 5 stars A trip through time! Reviewed in the United States on February 11, 2019 Format: Paperback Verified Purchase This book is a must read for those who love historic fiction. I loved the way the author took the characters through such a turbulent period in history while weaving the past with the present. It is a story about surviving and thriving. A must read for young and old alike!

More Reviews for The Porcelain Doll

5.0 out of 5 stars
Porcelain Doll is a must read
December 31, 2018
Format: Paperback

The Porcelain Doll was the best book I read this year. I have read other books about survivors but this was by far the most intriguing. I could not put the book down. The author describes in elegant detail the experiences all the characters. The two girls who were the main characters share a loving bond as they escape from Europe and settle in America. Ms. Dodaro weaves together the story into such a wonderful fabric that makes the ending so touching. I liked it so much I gave the book as holiday presents to friends and relatives. Ms. Dodaro is an excellent author and I enjoyed her Tin Box Trilogy books.

Roslyn F. Schneider
5.0 out of 5 stars
Resilience that shines through the cracks of despair.
December 23, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

This is a moving novel that walks us through horrific tragedies of families across generations and the strength of survivors and love.

Beverly Schweppe

I am still processing the emotions I felt when reading this story. It was so heart breaking and yet uplifting too .. I just don’t have the words to share my thoughts and how I was so emotionally involved in the story. I couldn’t put it down and was emotionally drained.

TERESA

5.0 out of 5 stars
Awesome read!
December 22, 2018
Format: Paperback

Wonderfully written! She makes you feel that your in the story whether present day or during the war. Theresa has a real passion for giving her readers what they want and never disappoints. How she connects grandmother and granddaughter is heartwarming and special. Looking forward you her next book. I also recommended reading The Tin Box Trilogy, if you haven’t already done so. 👍

 
Amazon Customer

November 21, 2018

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
 
beverly carlisle

November 28, 2018

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
 
Beverly

December 3, 2018

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
 
Andrea

November 29, 2018

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
 
J. Johnson

November 26, 2018

Format: Kindle Edition
Janice S

October 29, 2018

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
R. Brant Lopez

November 3, 2018

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
 

Reviews for The Tin Box Secret:

By Nicole  B. on February 18, 2016: Everyone LOVED the book! Our group is made up of 7 women ranging from 42-60+ years old and they felt this book would appeal to young and adult women alike.  I loved your writing as it really created strong images in my mind of the characters and places.  The book club loved how you developed the characters and one woman commented that she grew to really care about all of them.  Another woman commented how she loved the historical references to the time period and to Long Island. They all loved how there were so many different story lines within the main story line.  We all had our favorite characters, mine being Julie. The ending brought up many questions about the second installment.  The biggest being when will it be released!!!!

By Amazon Customer on February 6, 2016: This was a thoroughly enjoyable read. It brought back memories of growing up on Long Island and made me nostalgic for my childhood. The characters were very engaging with a story line that moved forward at a quick pace and kept me very engaged.  I highly recommend the book not only for young adults, but for anyone who loves a good story (if you grew up on Long Island in the late 60’s, early ’70’s, you’ll really get a kick out of the book).

By T Phillip on January 12, 2016: This is a wonderful book about friendship, family, forgiveness, love, patience, I enjoyed reading it and didn’t want it to end. This is the first of three, can’t wait for other two…

By Amazon Customer on December 29, 2015: Awesome book. It’s very rare that I find a book I can’t put down until I’ve finished yet wish I had more to read when I’m done.  An intriguing mystery with a very realistic depiction of Italian family life I the 60s. Passing out on to my daughter too read. Can’t wait for the second part of the trilogy.

By Amazon Customer on December 10, 2015: Brought back many memories! Told my 16 year old daughter about it and she can’t wait to read it. I think this book will definitely give her a unique perspective on what it was like being a teenager in the 1960s. Although this book is a mystery novel, it intertwines many of the historical events of that time, making it highly educational in a very entertaining way. I can’t wait to share it with my daughter!

By P. Greenwood on December 5, 2015: A book for people of all ages! Like the author, I’m also an Italian-American woman and can relate to so many family events in this story. It had a feeling of being autobiographical, a extraordinary feat not easy to capture in a book of fiction, especially in a writer’s first novel. Theresa Dodaro’s evocative writing takes me back to life around the kitchen table with parents and siblings and some very definite rules and regulations about what was acceptable behavior and what was not. I look forward to the next volume of this trilogy and am ready to pre-order it ASAP!

By  LynnR K on November 10, 2015: Loved this book. It brought me back to my adolescents, the wonder of your first love, but it had the mystery that didn’t let me put the book down until I was finished with it. So glad I got this book, it was wonderful.

By Stephanie O. Heaphy on November 7, 2015: Great book! Can’t remember the last time a book held my interest like this book did. Being an italian american female growing up in the 1960’s i felt a deep connection to the story. Cant remember the last time i read a book so quickly. Would highly recommend this book and looking forward to anything else written by the author theresa dodaro. Will be recommending this book to all my friends.

By beverly carlisle on November 4, 2015: Loved this book ! Easy to read and understands the viewpoint of a teenager in the 60’s! The mystery of the Tin Box keeps you turning each page. Can’the wait for the next one!

By Janice S on November 4, 2015: Loved it! What a great read. The kind of book that makes you wish you hadn’t finished it. It brought back so many fond memories from my own childhood. I can’t wait for the next one!

 Reviews for The Hope Chest:
 

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

I think I liked this book better than the first only because I like reading about history. I have read many books on the Civil War but this book taught me a few things I did not know and were very interesting. When I read the last chapter, I was blown away. If I did not know better, I would say this book was written by a seasoned mystery writer! The author did a great job of tying up all the loose ends and the characters. If you have read the first book you must read the second. Now I will have to wait patiently for the third.

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

I completely enjoyed reading The Hope Chest! The characters were so interesting and I loved their stories. Couldn’t stop thinking about them! The Civil War setting was thought provoking. Definitely recommend reading this book because I am glad I did!

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

A well done YA novel. An interesting look into a young woman’s life during the Civil War, with some good and interesting descriptions of the horrors of war for soldiers and civilians . I’m certainly looking forward to the last book of the series!
 

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

Loved this book! I couldn’t put it down. I read it in just a few days and liked the attention to historical detail. I had read the first book in the trilogy. I am excited to read the next one.

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

I 100% would recommend this book! The story kept me on my toes and it was hard to put down. A great second book for this trilogy. I can not wait to reread it and for book #3 to come out!
 
 
 
Reviews for Reawakening:
 
on July 16, 2017
 
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
This was the best of the best of the Tin Box Trilogy. All three books by Theresa were amazing. As a new author, she needs to be taken seriously. I could not put down her books. I was so anxious to read the final book and was not disappointed. What a great story! I loved the characters. I was so excited and very happy with the ending. Thank you Theresa.
 
 
on June 4, 2017
 
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Loved this story. Brought the story full circle. Theresa you have a talent and I look forward to reading your next book. Thanks for this story that brought so much joy to this reader. So many great memories as I grew up in Massapequa Park.
 
 
on May 30, 2017
 
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
So sad this trilogy is over! I LOVED all 3 of these books. Great story, lovable characters, lots of historical facts that I wasn’t even aware of. Thank you Theresa! Can’t wait until your next book!
 
 
on June 3, 2017
 
Format: Paperback
Reawakening (final book of The Tin Box Trilogy ) revealed how everything is connected. I really enjoyed following all the characters through the past and present. I recommend this trilogy for bookclubs – there is so much to discuss .
Looking forward to Theresa’s next book The Porcelain Doll.