Reviews

Reviews for The Porcelain Doll

5.0 out of 5 stars
Porcelain Doll is a must read
December 31, 2018
Format: Paperback

The Porcelain Doll was the best book I read this year. I have read other books about survivors but this was by far the most intriguing. I could not put the book down. The author describes in elegant detail the experiences all the characters. The two girls who were the main characters share a loving bond as they escape from Europe and settle in America. Ms. Dodaro weaves together the story into such a wonderful fabric that makes the ending so touching. I liked it so much I gave the book as holiday presents to friends and relatives. Ms. Dodaro is an excellent author and I enjoyed her Tin Box Trilogy books.

Roslyn F. Schneider
5.0 out of 5 stars
Resilience that shines through the cracks of despair.
December 23, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

This is a moving novel that walks us through horrific tragedies of families across generations and the strength of survivors and love.

Beverly Schweppe

I am still processing the emotions I felt when reading this story. It was so heart breaking and yet uplifting too .. I just don’t have the words to share my thoughts and how I was so emotionally involved in the story. I couldn’t put it down and was emotionally drained.

TERESA

5.0 out of 5 stars
Awesome read!
December 22, 2018
Format: Paperback

Wonderfully written! She makes you feel that your in the story whether present day or during the war. Theresa has a real passion for giving her readers what they want and never disappoints. How she connects grandmother and granddaughter is heartwarming and special. Looking forward you her next book. I also recommended reading The Tin Box Trilogy, if you haven’t already done so. 👍

 
Amazon Customer

November 21, 2018

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
 
beverly carlisle

November 28, 2018

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
 
Beverly

December 3, 2018

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
 
Andrea

November 29, 2018

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
 
J. Johnson

November 26, 2018

Format: Kindle Edition
Janice S

October 29, 2018

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
R. Brant Lopez

November 3, 2018

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
 

Reviews for The Tin Box Secret:

By Nicole  B. on February 18, 2016: Everyone LOVED the book! Our group is made up of 7 women ranging from 42-60+ years old and they felt this book would appeal to young and adult women alike.  I loved your writing as it really created strong images in my mind of the characters and places.  The book club loved how you developed the characters and one woman commented that she grew to really care about all of them.  Another woman commented how she loved the historical references to the time period and to Long Island. They all loved how there were so many different story lines within the main story line.  We all had our favorite characters, mine being Julie. The ending brought up many questions about the second installment.  The biggest being when will it be released!!!!

By Amazon Customer on February 6, 2016: This was a thoroughly enjoyable read. It brought back memories of growing up on Long Island and made me nostalgic for my childhood. The characters were very engaging with a story line that moved forward at a quick pace and kept me very engaged.  I highly recommend the book not only for young adults, but for anyone who loves a good story (if you grew up on Long Island in the late 60’s, early ’70’s, you’ll really get a kick out of the book).

By T Phillip on January 12, 2016: This is a wonderful book about friendship, family, forgiveness, love, patience, I enjoyed reading it and didn’t want it to end. This is the first of three, can’t wait for other two…

By Amazon Customer on December 29, 2015: Awesome book. It’s very rare that I find a book I can’t put down until I’ve finished yet wish I had more to read when I’m done.  An intriguing mystery with a very realistic depiction of Italian family life I the 60s. Passing out on to my daughter too read. Can’t wait for the second part of the trilogy.

By Amazon Customer on December 10, 2015: Brought back many memories! Told my 16 year old daughter about it and she can’t wait to read it. I think this book will definitely give her a unique perspective on what it was like being a teenager in the 1960s. Although this book is a mystery novel, it intertwines many of the historical events of that time, making it highly educational in a very entertaining way. I can’t wait to share it with my daughter!

By P. Greenwood on December 5, 2015: A book for people of all ages! Like the author, I’m also an Italian-American woman and can relate to so many family events in this story. It had a feeling of being autobiographical, a extraordinary feat not easy to capture in a book of fiction, especially in a writer’s first novel. Theresa Dodaro’s evocative writing takes me back to life around the kitchen table with parents and siblings and some very definite rules and regulations about what was acceptable behavior and what was not. I look forward to the next volume of this trilogy and am ready to pre-order it ASAP!

By  LynnR K on November 10, 2015: Loved this book. It brought me back to my adolescents, the wonder of your first love, but it had the mystery that didn’t let me put the book down until I was finished with it. So glad I got this book, it was wonderful.

By Stephanie O. Heaphy on November 7, 2015: Great book! Can’t remember the last time a book held my interest like this book did. Being an italian american female growing up in the 1960’s i felt a deep connection to the story. Cant remember the last time i read a book so quickly. Would highly recommend this book and looking forward to anything else written by the author theresa dodaro. Will be recommending this book to all my friends.

By beverly carlisle on November 4, 2015: Loved this book ! Easy to read and understands the viewpoint of a teenager in the 60’s! The mystery of the Tin Box keeps you turning each page. Can’the wait for the next one!

By Janice S on November 4, 2015: Loved it! What a great read. The kind of book that makes you wish you hadn’t finished it. It brought back so many fond memories from my own childhood. I can’t wait for the next one!

 

 Reviews for The Hope Chest:
 

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

I think I liked this book better than the first only because I like reading about history. I have read many books on the Civil War but this book taught me a few things I did not know and were very interesting. When I read the last chapter, I was blown away. If I did not know better, I would say this book was written by a seasoned mystery writer! The author did a great job of tying up all the loose ends and the characters. If you have read the first book you must read the second. Now I will have to wait patiently for the third.

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

I completely enjoyed reading The Hope Chest! The characters were so interesting and I loved their stories. Couldn’t stop thinking about them! The Civil War setting was thought provoking. Definitely recommend reading this book because I am glad I did!

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

A well done YA novel. An interesting look into a young woman’s life during the Civil War, with some good and interesting descriptions of the horrors of war for soldiers and civilians . I’m certainly looking forward to the last book of the series!
 

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

Loved this book! I couldn’t put it down. I read it in just a few days and liked the attention to historical detail. I had read the first book in the trilogy. I am excited to read the next one.

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

I 100% would recommend this book! The story kept me on my toes and it was hard to put down. A great second book for this trilogy. I can not wait to reread it and for book #3 to come out!
 
 
 
Reviews for Reawakening:
 
on July 16, 2017
 
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
This was the best of the best of the Tin Box Trilogy. All three books by Theresa were amazing. As a new author, she needs to be taken seriously. I could not put down her books. I was so anxious to read the final book and was not disappointed. What a great story! I loved the characters. I was so excited and very happy with the ending. Thank you Theresa.
 
 
on June 4, 2017
 
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Loved this story. Brought the story full circle. Theresa you have a talent and I look forward to reading your next book. Thanks for this story that brought so much joy to this reader. So many great memories as I grew up in Massapequa Park.
 
 
on May 30, 2017
 
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
So sad this trilogy is over! I LOVED all 3 of these books. Great story, lovable characters, lots of historical facts that I wasn’t even aware of. Thank you Theresa! Can’t wait until your next book!
 
 
on June 3, 2017
 
Format: Paperback
Reawakening (final book of The Tin Box Trilogy ) revealed how everything is connected. I really enjoyed following all the characters through the past and present. I recommend this trilogy for bookclubs – there is so much to discuss .
Looking forward to Theresa’s next book The Porcelain Doll.